August 2008 Returns -39% (not as bad as it sounds)

August was a very strange month.  Normally August is a boring, low volume, slightly bearish month.  So that’s how I traded it this year and it turned out to be anything but boring or bearish.

Fortunately, I realized early that this time was different and I kept my trades smaller and got out of losers quicker.  So while the -39% sounds bad the actual dollars lost were small.

So what happened?  Well, all my income trades went against me and as well as a couple bearish trades I had on against DELL which came out with poor earnings.  However, tech kept on rallying dragging DELL up with it.  SPY moved higher past my ICs and BCSP.  SPY was just so strong that I was a deer in the headlights watching it.  I couldn’t believe how strong it was.

September is shaping up to be very good so hopefully it will erase August losses and then some.

Comments are closed.